Custom Script (e.g Ads Script)

Paddock Wood Bowls Club - Rules Teasers

On our WhatsApp Group we often share Teasers helping Members understand some of the Rules of Bowls.  These have been re-produced here as a resource tool for Members and Non-Members alike.

Jack in the Ditch:
This occurred during a match in the George Collins Salver (Pairs, 4W, 21 Ends).

During one end, the 3rd bowl from Lead B trailed the jack into the ditch and finished 1cm away.
Why did both Skips agree there was no point competing the end?  We did, (for practice) but completed the scorecard when we changed ends?
How could this occur?

Answer:  ??
It was the first end of the match and the Competition Rules are, "1 on the first 2 ends".

 

Rebounding Bowls:
A player sends down a heavy runner (fire!) which clips the jack and then rebounds off the face of the bank back onto the Green, moving 3 bowls in the process.
What needs to happen next?

Answer: ??

As the bowl is a toucher and rebounds it is live and play continues:  
*Rules of Bowls:  
17.2 A bowl is not a dead bowl if:
17.2.3 it is a toucher which rebounds from the face of the bank onto the rink of play;*

 

Jack Length:
During a match a player puts up a short jack.  The first bowl bowled is very short.
A) What is the minimum Jack length permissible?
B) What is the minimum distance a bowl must travel to be considered 'Live'
C) What needs to happen to a bowl if it does not achieve this minimum distance?

Answer: ??

The minimum Jack length is 23M; if a bowl comes to rest less than 14M from the front of the mat, it is dead and should be removed from the rink.

 

Marker Moving the Jack: 
During a Club Singles Competition the Marker knocks a bowl while measuring, moving it from it's original position.
The two players cannot agree where the bowl was originally positioned.
What happens next?

Answer: ??

*Rules of Bowls: 
37.4.2 If a bowl is displaced by the marker when marking it as a toucher, or by the equipment being used by the marker during measuring, the marker must put the bowl back to a position agreed by the opponents. If the opponents cannot agree, the marker must put the bowl back to its former position"
So, if the players cannot agree, it is down to the Marker to place it where they think it was.

37.4.1 If a bowl is displaced by a player when marking it as a toucher, or by the equipment being used by a player during measuring, an opponent must put it back to its former position.

 

Playing out of turn:
In a Pairs or Triples Competition, a player plays out of turn.
What Option(s) does the opposing Skip have in each of the following scenarios?
a): whilst the bowl is still in motion? (1 option)
b): bowl has come to rest and not disturbed the head? (2 options)
c): come to rest having disturbed the head? (3 options).

Answer: ??
*Rules of Bowls: - Playing out of turn
"29.1.1 If a player plays out of turn, the opposing skip can stop the bowl and return it to the player to play it in the proper order.
29.1.2 If the bowl has come to rest and has not disturbed the head, the opposing skip must choose whether to:
29.1.2.1 leave the head as it is and have their team play two bowls one after the other to get back to the proper order of play; or
29.1.2.2 return the bowl and get back to the proper order of play.
29.1.3 If the bowl has disturbed the head, the opposing skip must choose whether to:
29.1.3.1 leave the disturbed head as it is and have their team play two bowls one after the other to get back to the proper order of play;
29.1.3.2 replace the head in its former position, return the bowl and go back to the proper order of play; or
29.1.3.3 declare the end dead.
29.1.4 If a bowl has been played by each team or player in Singles before the players discover that one of them has played out of turn, play in that end must continue in that order."
Seems that tactics will play a big part in what the opposing Skip decides to do.

 

Moving a Bowl resting in the Ditch:

During a match, the jack is knocked into the ditch. The white marker is placed above the jack in the ditch.
Subsequently, one of the players bowls too heavy and this bowl drops into the ditch and moves the toucher 18" along the ditch.
What, if anything needs to happen next?

Answer: ??
*Rules of Bowls:
38.5.3 Displacement of a jack at rest in the ditch
If a jack at rest in the ditch is displaced by a non-toucher entering the ditch, an opponent or the marker must put it back to its former position.
If a bowl pushed the original toucher (that pushed the jack in the ditch in the first place) into the ditch which moved the jack, then the marker would be moved to the new Jack position.  This is because it was moved by a 'live' bowl.

 

Mat Position:
During a match, an opponent notices the mat has not been positioned correctly.  What is the ruling in the following instances?
a) Before the Jack has been delivered?
b) After the Jack has been delivered but before the first bowl has been played?
c) After the first player has delivered their first bowl?

Answer: ??

It all depends whether the Jack and first bowl has been played:
*Rules of Bowls:
6.1.2 If, before the jack has been delivered, a player or the marker finds that the mat has not been placed as described in law 6.1.1, the player to play first must correctly position the mat.
6.1.3 If, after the jack has been delivered but before the first bowl is delivered, a player or the marker finds that the mat line has not been positioned within the distances described in law 6.1.1, the opposing player must place the mat as described in law 6.1.1 and re-deliver the jack, making sure that it is centred, but the opposing player must not play first.
6.1.4 After the first player to play has delivered the first bowl, no-one has the right to challenge the legality of the original distance of the mat line from the rear and front ditches.
6.2.2 If the mat is out of line with the centre line, it must be straightened on that line.

6.2.3 If the mat is off the centre line, it must be moved to that line.
6.2.4 If a player picks up the mat before the end has been completed, an opposing player must replace the mat in its original position"


Playing the final bowl of an end:

The Skip announces they were not going to play the last bowl of an end and instructed the No.2 to 'pick the jack up".  (The jack should not be moved until both No.2's have agreed the score!).
However the No.2 picks up the Jack and the Opposing No.2 says 'No, I want a measure!".  What happens.

Answer: ??
Whilst there is nothing that specifically refers to this in the Rules, this is the closest item that relates to it:
*Rules of Bowls:
8.4.1 If the jack is displaced by the equipment being used by a player during measuring, an opponent must put it back to its former position'.  So it is for the Opponent alone to decide where to put the jack to.
In addition, 
36 Deliberate non-sporting action
36.1 If an opponent, the coach in a side game, the umpire or the Controlling Body decides that a player has deliberately committed an act designed to give them or their team an unfair advantage, they can appeal to the Controlling Body'.
Very happy to be corrected on this if anyone can find anything specific but the take away learning is that the Jack or Bowls should not be moved until both No.2's have agreed the score and if the Jack is moved by one of the players there does not need to be agreement between the players as to where it is returned to, it is down to the opponent to decide.
[Rule 38.1.3 'Displacement of a jack at rest. If a jack at rest within the rink of play is displaced by a player, the opposing skip or opponent in Singles must put the jack back to its former position']